Akers named second-team All-Southwest Region

By Doug Fitzgerald & Peter Yazvac (Nebraska-Kearney SID) published November 14, 2007

University of Colorado at Colorado Springs middle blocker Brooke Akers was named to the 2007 Daktronics Division II All-Southwest Region Volleyball second team, the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) announced Wednesday.

The senior from Desert Hot Springs, Calif., is the first Mountain Lion to be named all-region since Audrey Nelson earned the honor in 2001.

Going into this weekend's Southwest Regional Tournament, Akers is averaging 3.92 kills per game while hitting .331. UCCS is the third seed in the tournament after posting a 20-11 record while playing numerous nationally-ranked opponents.

Senior middle hitter Nicole Schwab of Fort Lewis led the selections and was named 2007 Southwest Region Player of the Year. Schwab was a first-team selection for the second straight season and the Earlier this fall, and was named Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Player of the Year for the second time.

Central Oklahoma teammates Mari Araujo and Lacie Allen made the first team while Mesa State right side hitter Drew Choules earns her third Daktronics honor. Choules was a second-team pick in 2007, and 2005, and was a fist-team selection last year.

Sports information directors from within the region select the Daktronics all-region teams. First-team members move onto the national ballot and can earn All-American honors. This is the seventh year Daktronics has sponsored the Division II volleyball All-American and All-Region team.

Daktronics, with headquarters in Brookings, S.D., is an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition.

The complete team is listed below



Lacie Allen (Sr., Central Oklahoma) - 1st team in 2006


Nicole Schwab (Sr., Fort Lewis; - Region Player of the Year) - 1st team in 2006 Colleen Favaro (Sr., Texas A & M-Commerce)


Mari Araujo (Jr., Central Oklahoma)

Laura Pinsen (So., West Texas A & M)


Shannon Clausen (So., Nebraska-Kearney)


Katie Rickwartz (So., West Texas A & M)



Sara Contreras (Jr., West Texas A & M)


Brooke Akers (Sr., Colorado-Colorado Springs)

Nikki Scott (So., Nebraska-Kearney)


Julie Green-McFarland (Sr., Metro State)

Andrea Tuck (So., Adams State)


Drew Choules (Sr., Mesa State) - 1st team in 2006; 2nd team in 2005


Allison Schreiber (Jr., Midwestern State)

UCCS Players/Staff Featured

Brooke AkersBrooke Akers1MB
Brooke AkersBrooke Akers1MB
Additional News Stories
November 12, 2012Mountain Lions qualify for NCAA TournamentCOLORADO SPRINGS -- For the first time in program history, the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs volleyball team qualified for the NCAA Tournament.
November 16, 2007Season ends with loss in NCAA TournamentKEARNEY, Neb. -- The University of Colorado at Colorado Springs' first trip to the NCAA tournament ended all too quickly, as the Mountain Lions were beaten 3-0 (30-25, 32-30, 30-22) by the Metro State Roadrunners Friday in the first match of the Southwest regional at the University of Nebraska-Kearney's Health and Sports Center.
November 11, 2007 Lopers top UCCS in RMAC championship matchKEARNEY, Neb. -- It was fitting that Sunday was Veteran's Day.
November 10, 2007Laband helps send UCCS to RMAC title matchKEARNEY, Neb. -- The University of Colorado at Colorado Springs came out for warm-ups prior to Saturday's Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Tournament semifinal against Adams State sporting T-shirts that said, ‘the more difficult the challenge, the sweeter the victory.'
Visit our Facebook pageVisit the UCCS Mount Lion's Twitter pageVisit the UCCS Mountain Lions Youtube pageVisit UCCS Rss feeds